Eastern University, Sri Lanka

The Eastern province of Sri Lanka comprises the districts of Trincomalee, Batticaloa and Ampara. It covers an area of approximately 980,000 ha, about 15% of the total land area of the Island. The population of one million in the province is largely rural, with around 75% being engaged in agriculture and 15% in fishing. Batticaloa- the ‘Land of Singing Fish’ is full of beautiful natural landscapes such as lagoons, beaches, mountains, bird resting wetlands and manmade recreational spots.

The Eastern University, Sri Lanka (EUSL) is a state university located in Vantharumoolai. It’s in the Eastern Province of Sri Lanka. The university was established in 1986, which was initiated as Batticaloa University College in 1981.The main administrative block of the Eastern University, Sri Lanka (senate building) is in Vantharumoolai, Chenkalady, which is located in the Batticaloa-Polonnaruwa main road, about 18 km north of Batticaloa town. At present, the Eastern University, Sri Lanka has four faculties at Vantharumoolai, the Trincomalee Campus at Trincomalee, Faculty of Health-Care Sciences at Arasady and the Swami Vipulananda Institute of Aesthetic Studies (SVIAS) at Kallady, with the facilities of Library Network, Centre for Information and Communication Technology and Sports sector.

The government of Sri Lanka established the Faculty of Health-Care Sciences of the Eastern University, Sri Lanka in 2005. The faculty offers mainly of two courses of studies: Medicine (MBBS) and Nursing (BSc). The first batch of MBBS students were enrolled to the faculty in the silver jubilee year (2006) of the university, and the same has graduated with flying colors in 2013. The first batch of students for BSc. Nursing was enrolled and the course commenced in 2008. Vision of our faculty is to be a national center of excellence for higher learning and research with a competitive advantage, responsive to the dynamics of the regional, national and global conditions. And our mission is to produce men and women of highest professional standards in the practice and delivery of health – care. The moto is "Health for All" through Peace, Compassion, Care and Research

Annual Research Session-2017

The ARS is designed to showcase the work of academics, researchers and students from selected disciplines, as the purpose of research and creative activity is to share your work with the larger academic community.
This year, we, Faculty of Health-Care Sciences welcomed all the presenters and participants representing a variety of disciplines.

Chief Guest

Keynote Speakers

Important Dates

Extended Abstract & Full Paper:
Submission of Paper:   Closed
Notification of acceptance:


Submission of camera ready paper:
Email to


Early bird: from 01.04.2017 – 15.09.2017
Late from 16.09.2017 – 06.10.2017
Last date for presenter’s registration 25.09.2017


1. Economics & Management

2. Food & Agriculture

3. Health Sciences

4. Social sciences & Humanities

5. Science & Technology






Annual Research Session-2017 Flyer





Annual Research Session-2017 Brochure




ARS-2017 Registration Form




ARS-2017 Declaration Form




ARS-2017 Authors Guidelines